Oldies but Goodies

When asked what my favorite movies are, I never know how to respond. I like a lot of movies. But when I nervously wrack my brain for an answer, I always seem to think of recent movies. But in actuality, my favorite movies are at least a few years old. I guess they just don’t make them like they used to. A couple that I can think of are:

My House in Umbria – I can watch this movie again and again. I can’t even begin to describe the plot, it’s so twisted and all over the place – but everything and everyone comes together in the end. The simple synopsis of the movie is that a little girl’s parents are killed in a plane bombing that was a terrorist attack. This little girl is taken in by an older woman who lives in this amazing (and i mean AMAZING) house in Umbria. This woman (and all her tenants and workers) take a liking to this little girl. However, the time comes when the uncle comes from America to claim her. This event causes an unbalance that forces a lot of secrets and different personalities to come out. I can’t say too much other than it’s a wonderful movie. 

White Oleander I actually read the book before I watched the movie. And usually a book is better than a movie, but it’s definitely hard to tell with this one. The plot is very dark and disturbing at times, but so insightful and wonderfully done. It is about a girl with a crazed mother who kills her boyfriend and goes to jail. Because the girl, Astrid, has nowhere to go she goes from foster home to foster home, meeting some very interesting characters along the way. Throughout the entire movie, you see the physical and emotional changes that Astrid goes through. You also see how her relationship and perspective of her mother changes throughout the movie as well. This has always been a favorite of mine and I think everyone should see this movie at some point.

Unfaithful – I am surprised at how many people have not seen this movie!! It features one of my absolute favorite actresses – Diane Lane. If you haven’t seen it, I’m sure you’ve heard of it – it’s famous for its sex scenes. But there’s so much more than that. It’s pretty much about a suburban housewife who meets this charming young French book dealer on the streets of New York City, and as you can guess, an affair progresses from there. However, it gets even deeper than just an affair… but I don’t want to give too much away. Just know that it’s full of suspenses. And Diane Lane and Olivier Martinez are unbelievable together. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a Reply

